Snakku October 2016 Box

Hey guys!

So, I’ve disappeared for a while due to pressing projects for my classes. However, I have four boxes to review, and I’ll be reviewing three of them before October is over. So, let’s get straight to my favorite box of all time!

Since I had loved my smaller Snakku box from September, I subscribed to their three-month deal for the full version box. However, I forgot to cancel my month-to-month subscription of the smaller box, so I got multiple of some the same snacks. This is a lucky thing because this was my favorite box of all time and I wish I had even more of some of the snacks. So…here we go!

The beautiful Furoshiki Wrapping Cloth is now decorating my jewelry stand and is the perfect little touch of pretty for my bedroom.

img_6770

This is called Niigata Senbei, which, according to the informational card, is a “clay-baked rice cracker made in Nigata prefecture, lightly topped with sea salt from the Sea of Japan, dried green laver, and shaved bonito flakes.” I got two packets of this in the full box, and another in the smaller one. Each packet has two crackers in it. It has a really interesting flavor. It doesn’t taste very fishy, but you can definitely taste the seaweed. I really enjoyed it, but could only eat one at a time because of its slightly intense taste. I’d give it a 4 out of 5.

This was a yummy snack called Tomaya Persimmons. I got three total of this, one from the smaller box and two from the large one. It was pretty tasty, but not really my type of treat. I ate one and gave the other two to my mom, who loves anything fruit-related! They are basically just sun-dried persimmons with no added sugar, so they’re definitely healthy! The information card says that they “recommend you chill it before you eat it.” I didn’t try that, but it may have enhanced the sweetness! I give this a 3 out of 5.

This delicious snack is called Pumpkin Arare. According to the information card, it is a “fun Halloween-themed assortment of mini rice crackers made with Kabocha.” I’m not sure if they were supposed to taste like pumpkins, but they didn’t to me. However, I love rice crackers, and these were yummy! I got three of these bags, and I still have one left that I am waiting to enjoy with a friend so that she can also taste it. I give this deliciousness a 5 out of 5.

These are Matcha Chocolate Crunch snacks. They were pretty good and you can definitely taste the matcha in them, which I quite enjoy. This was one of the extras in the larger box, so they did not include it in the smaller box. Still, they did have two in the large box, and I still have one of these left. The informational card says that it is “made using rice from a local coop in rural Gifu, chocolate from Hokkaido, and matcha green tea from a nearby tea farm in Nagoya.” I give this 3 out of 5.

I’ve been wanting to try various KitKat flavors only sold in Japan, but hadn’t gotten around to it until Snakku sent these incredible treats to me! This is specifically Pumpkin Pudding KitKat, and the card says that this seasonal treat is “only available in Japan during October.” I got two in this box, but none in the other, unfortunately. This was another extra in the larger box. They’re both gone, and I didn’t offer to share with anyone because they were absolutely delicious! I wish I had more or could order more, but I suppose I’ll have to wait until October 2017. *sigh* I give it a 5 out of 5.

This was my least favorite snack in the box, and it was a real surprise. I usually love coffee-flavored anything, especially hard candy, but these were a major letdown. They are roasted coffee candies. The card says that they taste “exactly like a cup of freshly made, deep bodied coffee” that is “perfect for all you coffee lovers!” I thought I would agree with them as a deep bodied coffee lover, but I couldn’t even finish one. However, my mom though they were fine so I gave all six, three from each box, to her. I give this a 1 out of 5.

This was another extra in the large box, and I really wish it wasn’t so I would have had another one. These are called Kuri Senbei and, according to the informational card, they are from a small snack shop near Mt. Fuji that “has been making this senbei rice cracker for hundreds of years.” I love food with such a rich history! The snacks are “made by using a clay oven to bake a mixture of egg, sweet white bean paste, local chestnuts, and water from the crystal clear Fuji river.” Yum already, right?! Well, just wait until you try it. And try it you must! They’re crunchy and the perfect amount of sweetness. They’re unique and delicious, and I am definitely looking to purchase some from somewhere soon. I give this deliciousness a 5 out of 5.

So if all chips are like these in Japan, then that’s just darn cool! These are called Butter Soy Jagabee, which are “crunchy, baked potato sticks, glazed with soy sauce and butter.” I was already sold by the description since potatoes and soy sauce are delicious. However, they didn’t taste much like soy sauce, which I didn’t find to be a problem at all. As someone who doesn’t like too much salt, I was afraid the soy sauce flavor would make these crisps too salty for me. However, they were not. They were the perfect texture and flavor. My dad and I thoroughly enjoyed the two bags we had on the first day. Sadly, since it was another extra snack, those were the only ones we had. I definitely give this one a 5 out of 5.

Okay, let’s start off with me saying that I have a major sweet tooth and love chocolate, especially dark chocolate that isn’t too sweet. Now, I had three of these Choco Pies, and it still wasn’t nearly enough. I could have had three more and still be left craving more. The card describes it as “soft chocolate covered cake sandwich, filled with a mildly sweet cream filling.” It was incredibly soft and airy, and neither the chocolate nor the filling were too sweet. It was a perfect combination of creaminess, chocolate and cake. The card also says that it is “a perfect pick-me-up for when you are feeling down.” I agree with this wholeheartedly as I know that if someone handed one of these to me when I was in a bad mood, I would immediately light up with happiness. However, I would eat at least one a day, if I could get my hands on more. Honestly, it was the perfect sweet snack. Obviously, I give this 5 out of 5. (If I can cheat, I’ll give it a 10!)

Okay, I saved my favorite snack for last. This beautiful snack is called Kuriko Momiji. I was really confused when I felt the texture from inside of the wrapper. When I opened it, I was just blow away by its design. Still, I had no idea what to expect aside from the obvious maple syrup flavor, which I could taste before I even read the card that told me that the “pastry bun [is] infused with locally-harvested maple syrup.” I took a bite and didn’t immediately get to the filling, which is “a roasted chestnut, sweet bean filling.” The bun was delicious, with the right amount of maple syrup that wasn’t overwhelmingly sweet. It was soft and interesting. Then, with one more bite, I got to the filling which absolutely blew me away. I honestly don’t have words to describe how scrumptious this treat is. Do yourselves a favor and try these if you can. I did get three of these, which were gone in the first three days. Unfortunately, I haven’t found any to purchase that are affordable yet, but I’m still looking. If you find any, please do let me know! I obviously give this a 5 out of 5. (See cheating note above!)

So, all-in-all, I give this box a 5 out of 5 due to the amount of snacks I received and the flavors of them all. I am now even more excited to receive my November box! Also, I’m slowly learning that I very much enjoy sweet bean fillings in my snacks. Interesting.

Again, here’s the pricing information for Snakku.

Tasting Box: $15.75 (3 snacks less than regular sized box)

1-Month Regular Sized Box: $38.95

3-Month Regular Sized Box (SALE): $115.50 ($38.50 per box)

6-Month Regular Sized Box (SALE): $227.70 ($37.95 per box)

As always, please like, comment, subscribe and share! Thanks for reading, guys. I look forward to hearing from you.

Until next time…

With Tea and Sunshine,

Mariam B.

Twitter: @MariamBudagyan

Tumblr: Through My Eyes

YouTube: Mariam Budagyan

Leave a Reply

