So Many Bands, So Little Time (Part 2)

Hey guys! So, here’s part two of my live band review, which includes a reveal. (Read Part 1.) The boyband that I took my eleven-year-old niece to see over Labor Day weekend was none other than…5 Seconds of Summer! (Queue blood curdling screams!)

First off, the venue! We had the pleasure of checking out the Irvine Meadows Amphitheater in Irvine, California. Also, while there were more than one opening act at the show, we were only able to catch the final one. The band is called Hey Violet! and they are a cool little band who rocked out pretty hard! I highly suggest checking them out if you don’t already know that because I definitely will be! (The other opener is called Roy English, who I had not heard of and have not gotten to check out yet. I wish we had gotten to see him that day, but I’ll be checking out some of his tracks soon, and I hope you will, too!)

So, I grew up on boybands. I loved, and still love, Hanson and Backstreet Boys. So this experience was a special one for me to share with my niece. In short, she had a blast singing and dancing along, and screaming her heart out! Now, let’s get to the band themselves.

For those of you living under a rock, 5 Seconds of Summer, or 5SOS for short, is a boyband from Australia that formed in 2011 and is made up of four adorable and talented guys; Luke Hemmings (guitar & vocals), Calum Hood (bass & vocals), Michael Clifford (guitar & vocals) and Ashton Irwin (drums & vocals).

My first experience with 5SOS was with their cover of “What I Like About You” by The Romantics. I absolutely loved their cover and was intrigued. Later, I was introduced to more of their music by my niece and realized that some of it was quite catchy. Still, though, I didn’t really put much thought into them. At the concert, though, that all changed. I realized that these guys are incredibly talented! They rock out on their instruments as well as vocals! One thing I wasn’t able to capture on video was the guitar battle between Michael and Luke during “Castaway,” which also happens to be my favorite of their songs. Therefore, I’m linking you to this YouTube so that you can see what I’m talking about.

Here are some of the videos I captured at the show, including one of us in line before getting into the venue:

5SOS Concert – The Line

5SOS – Don’t Stop

5SOS – Girls Talk Boys

5SOS – What I Like About You (cover)

The photos weren’t too great, but I’m sharing them here anyway:

 

So I hope you’ll check out 5SOS even if you don’t generally enjoy boybands. If you do, I hope you enjoy them as much as I did! Either way, I’d love to hear from you so please comment, like and follow!

Thanks for reading, everyone. Until next time…

With Tea & Sunshine,

Mariam B.

Twitter: @MariamBudagyan

Tumblr: Through My Eyes

YouTube: Mariam Budagyan

2 thoughts on “So Many Bands, So Little Time (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: So Many Bands, So Little Time (Parts 1 and 2) | glamrockhippie

  2. Pingback: So Many Bands, So Little Time! (Part 1) | glamrockhippie

Leave a Reply

