Overnight Steel Cut Oatmeal

Hello, hello! I hope you are all having a fabulous day/evening.

I’ve been getting back into eating healthy food and exercising, and I feel pretty great! However, breakfasts on-the-go are difficult for anyone who has to be up early for a full-time job. Therefore, I was searching for some easy, make-ahead ideas that are quick, simple and healthy. That’s when I ran into overnight oatmeal recipes.

If you are an oatmeal lover, you must try this! I loved it and cannot wait to experiment with various flavors and toppings. Especially now that it’s been getting hot (anywhere from 85 to 100 degrees these past few days in Los Angeles), this oatmeal has been perfection! I wish I had an exact recipe to share with you guys, but since I am more of an “eyeball it” kind of gal, I don’t. However, fret not. There are plenty of recipes out there, and I’ll leave you with a couple of links at the end of this entry.

Let’s talk about what I made for a second, though. While it turned out quite delicious, I played it safe as far as flavors go. I usually make my regular oats with cinnamon and brown sugar, sometimes with some dark chocolate added in, and usually with either some mashed banana or chunks of an apple. I definitely need to wow my palate. Also, I didn’t have any non-flavored Greek yogurt, and they mentioned on many blogs that the yogurt helps with the fluffy consistency, and the consistency was the only thing I had a slight problem with. I would have preferred to have a little more creaminess, and I’m hoping the yogurt will help next time. I’ll definitely be measuring things out a little better, making sure to have some Greek yogurt on hand (they say you can even flavor the oats with the yogurt itself), and trying to perfect a recipe so that I can share it with you all. At that time, I will also be sure to take pictures of each step, with a better camera.

In the meantime, here are some step-by-step instructions on how to make the specific oats I made, without measurements:

1. Bring steel cut oats, chia seeds and desired milk (I chose non-flavored Almond) to a boil. (Add Greek yogurt if desired.)

2. While cooking, add in brown sugar, dates and cinnamon.

3. Stir the mixture regularly, making sure to mash the dates so you don’t have chunks of them, unless that’s what you’re going for.

4. Once oats have cooked for 5-7 minutes, set aside to cool.

5. While the oats are cooling, chop up some dark chocolate and dump it on top. Mix the melting chocolate until well combined.

6. Empty oats into a Mason jar (or something similar) and leave uncovered for a few moments to cool.

7. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

8. In the morning, top oats with bee pollen and blueberries (or fruit and toppings of your choosing), replace lid, and head off to work.

9. Enjoy the delicious, cool, and healthy treat you’ve made yourself!

Here are a couple of pictures of my oatmeal from this morning:

IMG_6373 IMG_6376

As you can see, I wasn’t necessarily going for pretty with this. Still, the colors do look lovely to me! Next time, I’ll be trying something a little more colorful.

If you make your own overnight oats (before or after my post), please comment on how it’s worked out for you. I’d love some flavor, seasoning or topping suggestions. I can’t wait to hear from you guys!

Links to recipes:

Buzzfeed’s “19 Ridiculously Easy Mugs of Overnight Oats” (I’m most looking forward to trying the strawberry-rhubarb one.)

My Whole Food Life’s “17 Delicious Overnight Oats Recipes” (How incredible does the almond butter and jelly sound/look?!)

Note: Minute Oats will be easier to make and will take less time. Be sure to follow instructions for the specific type of oats you are cooking with.

Check out my Pinterest for more recipes for overnight oats, delicious desserts, and much more!

💛Love. 💋Glam. ✌Peace. 🎶Music.

One thought on “Overnight Steel Cut Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Overnight Steel Cut Oatmeal | Fashion for the Average Woman

Leave a Reply

